top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureShaun Serikaku

Joiking

When listening to the 2 joiks, I noticed that these had a much darker tone, yet didn't capture that emotion that I had experienced in the first joik I heard from the young man. While the young man sung for his deceased friends, I felt that the others sang for a different reason, which I felt was about childhood. I don't really understand why, but that was the first word that came to my head.


In terms of emotion, I believe that language is sometimes not necessary to really understand the true depth of the song. You may not understand the words, but emotion is mostly within one's tone of voice. You can't capture that same depth of emotion with plain words. On the other hand, music itself is an actual language. There are certain pitches and tones which can be read, and there are certain ways of composing and analyzing music. Additionally, I know another thing that can transcend language is images. Images tell a thousand words, you can capture so much in a simple image.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Olfactory Diary

Scent 1: Rain Rain has always had that distinct, strong smell when it hits the pavement. It's a smell I always liked, because it was so unique in its own way. It always triggers memories of rainy days

bottom of page