top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureShaun Serikaku

Lonely

"Loneliness is the price we have to pay for being born in this modern age, so full of freedom, independence, and our own egotistical selves" (pg 30, Sensei)

Write about your thoughts on this quote...in what ways, for example, does social media in our time perhaps isolate people as much as it connects people? Does it augment our egotism? Are we "together" but "alone"? I feel that social media tends to isolate people more than connect them. I believe it promotes jealousy in others, and brings out more negative emotions than positive. When we look at other’s profiles, we see how many people follow them, how many friends they have online, and what they do in their personal life. People may feel less fortunate then the people they see on the screen, who always post the best moments of their life, while the person looking at the post may feel jealous because they don’t have access to that happiness or popularity in general. I personally feel disconnected from others when looking at social media, thinking to myself, “I wish I had that” or “I wish I was friends with this person.”

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Olfactory Diary

Scent 1: Rain Rain has always had that distinct, strong smell when it hits the pavement. It's a smell I always liked, because it was so unique in its own way. It always triggers memories of rainy days

bottom of page